28.2 C
Monday, March 27, 2023

Russia Publishes an Official List of States it Deems ‘Unfriendly’ to It

Must read

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

A list of foreign states that Russia considers as having committed “unfriendly actions” against “Russia, Russian companies and citizens” was published on the Russian government’s website on Monday.

The countries, international organizations and territories considered “unfriendly” include: “Australia, Albania, Andorra, United Kingdom, including Jersey, Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Gibraltar, the member states of the European Union, Iceland, Canada, Liechtenstein, Micronesia, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Republic of Korea, San Marino, North Macedonia, Singapore, USA, Taiwan, Ukraine, Montenegro, Switzerland, Japan.”

Russia lists Taiwan as being part of China.

A complimentary item of legislation from Sunday states that Russian citizens and companies must apply for a special permit to deal with “unfriendly” foreign entities.

The list was created as part of a series of  laws to follow a Saturday decree by Russian President Vladimir Putin for  “temporary economic measures to ensure the financial stability of the Russian Federation.”

Part of the measures the list was to enforce was the law that allows Russian citizens, companies and state bodies to pay back foreign creditors in rubles.

While Israel has publicly condemned Russia for its invasion of Ukraine, it was not included on the list.

Israel has taken on a mediation role during the conflict, seeing Prime Minister Naftali Bennett flying to Moscow on Saturday to speak with Putin.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -

Latest article