28.2 C
Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Governor Ortom Parades 21 PDP Governorship Aspirants In Benue

Must read

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Benue State Governor, Samuel Ortom and the State Working Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party has paraded 21 gubernatorial aspirants of the party at the New Banquet Hall of Benue Peoples House Makurdi, describing them as men of implacable credentials and experienced enough to lead the state in 2023.

Briefing journalists at the end of their closed door meeting, Governor Ortom said all the aspirants had agreed to work together for a common purpose, stressing that they would consolidate on the gains already made by PDP in the past to record success in the 2023 general elections.

“Based on my interaction with the aspirants, all of them are competent and qualified to serve the State as Governor. However, only one person would be nominated to fly the party’s flag in the election”.

According to him, stakeholders and the party would work towards a consensus candidate but where it fails, a free and fair primaries would be conducted to nominate a candidate to fly the party’s ticket in 2023.

Governor Ortom further stated that he and the State Working Committee of the PDP would remain neutral in the process leading to nomination of a gubernatorial candidate; pointing out that more aspirants would make their intension known to the party in due course.

The Governor who pointed out that given the number of aspirants that declared for the seat was a clear case of acceptability in Benue state, expressed the hope that the Benue people will still vote for PDP in 2023 to consolidate on what his administration has posted in the past six years.

The Governor reechoed his earlier directives that any of appointees serving in his administration and intending to seek elective position in the 2023 general election must resign latest on 1st October, 2013.

Some of the aspirants jostling to succeed Governor Ortom are his Deputy, Engr. Benson Abounu, Speaker of Benue State House of Assembly, Rt. Honorable Titus Uba, Chief of Staff, Terwase Orbunde, Member representing Tiev State constituency, Terkaa Ucha, Commissioner for Education, Professor Dennis Ityavyar, a Makurdi based Industrialist, Dr. Paul Ubwa, Engineer Ben Akaaka, Engineer Tertsea Gbishe, Commissioner for Water Resources, Engr Dondu Ahire and Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Mr. Terver Akase.

Other aspirants are Mr Julius Atorugh, Hon Dominic Akaahan, Hon Adikpo Agbatse, Isaiah Ipevnor, former Acting Director General of Standard Organization of Nigeria, Dr Paul Angya, Engineer Terver Atsar, Pharmacist Peter Chieshe, Hon Patrick Ogbu, Hon Christopher Afaor, Mr Boniface Jibo.

Also in the race are former member representing Kwande/Ushongo federal constituency in lower chambers of the national assembly, Barr. Chille Igbawua, immediate past Managing Director of NEXIM Bank, Dr. Robert Orya and Dominic Akaahan were absent but sent apologies.

The aspirants later held a closed door meeting where they chose Barrister Chile Igbawua as Coordinating Chairman of the PDP Governorship Aspirants Forum with Patrick Ogbu as Secretary while Mr Julius Atorugh is the treasurer.

One of the aspirants who don’t want his name in print, expressed optimism that PDP Benue will win the 202 governorship race in the state if there is a transparent party primaries devoid of acrimony and favouritism.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -

Latest article