23.2 C
Monday, March 27, 2023

Buhari Sends Seven Ministerial Nominees For Confirmation

Must read

Listen now
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

President Muhammadu Buhari has sent a letter to the Senate asking the red chamber to confirm the appointment of seven new ministerial nominees.

They are: Henry Ikechukwu Iko (Abia State); Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom State); Ekuma Joseph (Ebonyi State); Goodluck Opia (Imo State); Umar Ibrahim El-Yakukub, (Kano State), Ademola Adewale Adegoroye, (Ondo State) and Odum Odi (Rivers State).

They replaced ministers who resigned their appointments at the wake of the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential primary election recently.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, read Buhari’s letter on the floor of the Senate during plenary Tuesday.

Meanwhile, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) caucus in the red chamber has appointed Senators Phillip Aduda (FCT) and Chukwuka Utazi (Enugu North) as the new Minority Leader and Minority Whip respectively.

Their names were announced on the floor by the Senate President. Also at plenary on Tuesday, three APC senator’s official defected to the PDP.

They are: Isa Kaita (Katsina North); Lawal Gumau (Bauchi South) and Francis Alimikhena (Edo North).

They cited internal crisis within the local chapters of their parties as reasons for their actions, in their separate letters read by the Senate President.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -

Latest article