28.2 C
Sunday, March 26, 2023

All Set For South West Secondary School Basketball Championship Finals

Must read

Listen now
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Secondary School kids in the South West will converge for the inaugural zonal finals of the South West Basketball Association Secondary School Championship.

The games will be played at the basketball court of the Lekan Salami Stadium, Ibadan between Wednesday, 6th of July and Friday, 8th, July.

The state elimination took place in the six states- Ekiti, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Ogun and Lagos State under the zone with six teams each emerging in the boys and girls category.

In the boys’ category, Anglican Grammar School, Ado Ekiti will compete against Aquinas College, Akure, Fakunle Comprehensive High School, Osogbo, Kings International College, Ibadan, Vitorotti Secondary School, Abeokuta and Topfield School, Lagos.

In the girls’ category, David Hall College, Lagos will square off against Beraville Model College, Abeokuta, Yejide Girls Grammar School, Ibadan, Osogbo Comprehensive High School, Osogbo, St Peter’s Unity Secondary School, Akure and Anglican Grammar School, Ado Ekiti.

The competition is the first of many to come in the South-West zone of the Nigeria Basketball Federation under the leadership of Olumide Oyedeji. He expressed gratitude to all state association chairmen within the zone without which such competition would have been impossible.

“I wish to appreciate the state chairmen and their boards for keying into this vision. Grassroots and education geared towards basketball development work hand in hand.”

“For the medium and long term sustainability of our basketball culture, the grassroots play a vital role”, Oyedeji noted.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -

Latest article