31.9 C
Sunday, May 26, 2024

Asisat Oshoala Wins CAF Women’s Award for Record 5th Time

Must read

- Advertisement -
Listen now
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala has scooped the coveted CAF Women’s Player of the Year Award at the CAF Awards 2022 held in Rabat, Morocco on Thursday night.

No African Footballer, both Male and Female has won more African Player of the year award more than Asisat Oshoala.

Oshoala won the CAF Women’s Player of the Year Award for a record 5th time, surpassing Perpetual Nwankocha who won four.

The 27-year-old who played for Barcelona women was announced the winner in the gala held in Rabat, Morocco, on Thursday.

The 2021/22 season was arguably Oshoala best yet as she played key roles in her Spanish side’s treble – the Spanish Women’s Super Cup, Copa de la Reina and the Primera Division.

Oshoala missed key matches due to injury, but still emerged as the league joint-top scorer after scoring 20 goals in 19 league appearances to share the award with Brazilian Geyse Ferreira, who managed the same number of goals in 27 appearances for Madrid CFF.

Oshoala was ruled out of 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations 2022 after suffering a medial collateral ligament injury in the Super Falcon’s 2-1 defeat to South Africa in Rabat.

Oshoala won the CAF Women’s Player of the Year Award in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Oshoala becomes the fourth Nigerian to win the women’s version of the CAF Award, after Mercy Akide (2001), Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 & 2011) and Cynthia Uwak (2006 & 2007).

In the men’s category, Sadio Mane beat Mohamed Salah and Eduard Mendy to be crowned the 2022 CAF men’s ‘Player of the Year.

The men’s ‘Young Player of the Year was scooped by Pape Matar Sarr of Senegal and Tottenham Hotspur while Ghana’s Evelyn Badu won the women’s category.


Player of the Year (Women)

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona) — WINNER

Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

Player of the Year (Men)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich) — WINNER

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes) — WINNER

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly) — WINNER

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes) — WINNER

Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur) — WINNER

Coach of the Year (Women)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa) — WINNER

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal) — WINNER

Coach of the Year (Men)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal) — WINNER

Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year (Women)

AS FAR (Morocco)

Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) — WINNER

Club of the Year (Men)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco) — WINNER

National Team of the Year (Men)



Senegal — WINNER

Goal of the Year

Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal/ Simba FC)

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article