26.2 C
Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Benzema, Bono, Aspas emerge winners in LaLiga 2021/22 season

Must read

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Listen now

The 2021/22 LaLiga season has reached its conclusion and some players deserve special recognition. That is why the Pichichi, Zamora and the Zarra Trophy are awarded every year. These are the awards presented to the competition’s top scorer, the goalkeeper who conceded the fewest goals per game and the top Spanish scorer in LaLiga Santander.

With the winners of these individual trophies now known, here comes a look at the numbers that saw four players claim these three honours.

Pichichi Trophy: Karim Benzema is LaLiga’s top scorer

For the first time in his career, Real Madrid striker, Karim Benzema, scored the highest number of goals in LaLiga, winning the Pichichi Trophy for the 2021/22 season. Benzema led the way with 27 goals in LaLiga, netting 10 more times than second-top scorers Vinícius, Iago Aspas and Raúl de Tomás. On 11 occasions, Benzema scored the opening goal of the match, which was key to Real Madrid’s title win.

Read Also: Benzema Sets New Goal Record

It has been the best season of Benzema’s career in terms of goals, while this is his first time winning the Pichichi Trophy. He has also become the first Real Madrid player to win it since Cristiano Ronaldo.

Zamora Trophy: Bono is the first Sevilla player to win the Zamora

Sevilla goalkeeper Bono has won the Zamora Trophy, which is awarded every year to the goalkeeper with the best goals conceded per game ratio. He finished the campaign with 24 goals conceded in 31 games played, which is 0.77 goals per game. He was followed by Thibaut Courtois, with the Real Madrid goalkeeper second through his coefficient of 0.81.
The Moroccan has, therefore, become the first Sevilla FC player to ever achieve what is the greatest individual recognition for a goalkeeper in LaLiga Santander.

Zarra Trophy: A prize that is shared

The Zarra Trophy is the prize given out for the top-scoring Spaniard of each LaLiga Santander campaign. This year, there are two winners, as Iago Aspas and Raúl de Tomás finished the season level on 17 goals. Although some credited the RC Celta player with 18 goals, the organiser of the Zarra Trophy, MARCA, has awarded him one goalless.

Still, it is the fourth Zarra Trophy of Aspas’ career, equalling Spanish football legend David Villa. Raúl de Tomás, meanwhile, has won this award for the first time and is the first player in the history of RCD Espanyol to achieve this recognition

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -

Latest article